Nearing the End of the Road to Publication

As of this past Monday, preorders for Perfect Bound: How to Navigate the Book Publishing Process Like a Pro have opened. That puts me a huge step closer to the end of the publishing journey.

We at Hop On Publishing are excited to have gotten this far. It’s been nearly two years since I sat down to write my first draft, and in that time, the book has gone through some major restructuring. The final product is tight, clear, and dynamic — something I can really be proud of.

Starting in February I began charting my progress through the publishing process with this blog. Living it was educational, and writing about it gave me perspective on what had happened, how far I had come, and just how far I had to go.

You can get the details on my successes and failures with the following posts. I hope my experience will make yours easier:

How I Chose My Path to Publication

Manuscript Development

Copyediting and Query Resolution

Cover and Interior Design

Page Proofs and Sending Final Files to the Printer

There is one more stage of production that I didn’t cover and that is conversion to ebook. It’s a simple enough process — you upload your files to your chosen ebook company, some magical conversion takes place, and you are presented with ePub and mobi files for use on a Nook, Kobo, iPad, Kindle, or other e-reader of your choice. It’s simple, but not always easy. The magic only happens if your files are prepared correctly, so make sure you and your designer have followed the relevant instructions as closely as possible.

To learn more about Perfect Bound, visit www.hoponpublishing.com. To preorder your copy, click here.

Good luck on your own writing journey!

Leave a Reply

