Coming Up for Air

Well, well. So this is what it’s like to work eight hours a day! It’s been a while. Until yesterday, life at P.O.P. had been very busy.

For the past six weeks, I’ve been working extremely hard to get two huge projects (a combined 1,200 pages) through the machine and back into the hands of the publishers. I’ve also had two smaller projects weaving in and out, as well as a daily blog that I edit and some short press releases and journal articles that I take care of each week. Not to mention trying to keep a clean house, walk the dog, and eat dinner every night. Needless to say, it’s been exhausting.

And all of this was going on as I was trying to prepare for my first-ever “Sell Your Book!” workshop, which took place April 9. My plan had been to work on the paying stuff during the day and the extracurricular stuff in the evening, but with my days ending at 8 or 9 at night, it was difficult to make much headway. Luckily I had been gathering the workshop materials for several months, and finally last week I was able to carve out the time I needed to perfect it. Not a minute too soon!

That effort paid off: by all accounts, the workshop was a success! We had a nice group of five authors, each with very different projects and each with great input and enthusiasm. Book ideas ranged from a children’s story about cats traveling the world to a coffee table book about Mississippi before and after Katrina to a paranormal how-to. It was a fun morning, and some excellent information and ideas  were exchanged. The real measure of success for me, however, was that all of the authors said they would recommend the workshop to friends. They must have thought it was time well spent.

Things are still busy here with a couple of deadlines next week, but my head isn’t spinning and that’s a good thing. In fact, I might even be able to take a day off at the end of April.

Ahhh, it’s nice to be able to breathe again. My deepest thanks to those who helped me accomplish all of this, especially my husband, Chris, who made me dinner almost every night so that I didn’t have to take that time away from my projects. It looks like I’ll be doing a LOT of cooking in May!

Peace.

Oh yeah, stayed tuned this summer for information about my next workshop, “Produce That Book!,” covering everything you need to know about book production! (What can I say — I’m a glutton.)

Update: The “Produce That Book!” website is up. Visit www.sellyourbookworkshop.com.

Leave a Reply

