Brain Storms

A couple of weeks ago I gave a presentation on the process of getting your manuscript ready for editing, and it went really well. We covered some great information, and I think the audience got a lot out of it. When I got home that night, I told my handsome and strong husband, Chris, how much I enjoyed the experience and that I wanted to find other venues for talks. I also realized that although the presentation was good, there was so much more I wanted to say on the topic.

After some brainstorming on how best to satisfy both goals, I came up with an idea: I’m going to put on a workshop for writers to help them prepare their manuscripts for publication from the very first page. This isn’t the usual writers workshop where we talk about creative writing techniques and critique each other’s work. Instead, we’re going to talk about how to incorporate your marketing plan into your writing.

The problem I see with a lot of the manuscripts I edit is that not enough planning was done before the writing took place. Some people don’t use outlines, some people don’t consider their audience, and many, many people don’t take into account how they are going to sell this book once it is written. And that’s exactly what my workshop is going to cover.

I have done some preliminary work to get it together, and I’m very excited. I compiled my notes, then spoke with a couple of colleagues who have put on similar ventures. They had some strong suggestions, and I think I’m on the right track. There is much work still to be done, but as I told one fellow editor, whether this idea flies or not, something will definitely come of it. There’s no putting it back on the shelf now. And if things go well, maybe this will become a regular service from P.O.P.

Coming this April: “Sell Your Book!” by Katherine Pickett. More information to follow.

Leave a Reply

